[ Home ]
Time Recording: Multi Device Sync
• Use "Multi Device Sync" to keep your Time Recording data in sync across two or more devices.
• Caution: each "sync" process copies the complete data file, it does NOT transfer "changes only" or similar.
Hence, do NOT change your data concurrently on different devices without prior "download"; you will eventually lose data otherwise.
• What's the difference between "Sync" and "Backup/Restore": Backup/Restore also includes all app settings and preferences,
while "Sync" only contains the data file (stamps, notes, tasks).
• "Sync" requires the Google Drive plugin (you will be prompted accordingly). Sync over Dropbox is not supported.
• Caution: "Upload to Cloud after every change" kicks in with 10 seconds delay, we don't want to hit the Cloud storage too often
• Available since Time Recording V6.05
• "Upload" or "Data upload": copies your Time Recording data file from your current device to the Cloud storage (which is Google Drive)
• "Download" or "Data download": gets the newest Time Recording data file from your Cloud storage and loads it on your device. Note the previous local data file on this device is replaced.
Master devices are "upload only", they never receive a "download". Normally you just have one master device, consider it the "data owner" or primary device.
Slave devices are "download only". "Upload" function is not available, performing changes on the main screen is disabled.
Consider these devices "read only".
• Multi Master
Multi master devices allow acting as both 'Uploader' and 'Downloader'; that is, you can add entries on device A, change those on device B, then propagate back to device A.
In most cases you'll want to use one of these two configurations. Other combinations are possible but might not be meaningful.
(1) Phone is used as primary device and for all data input, Tablet is used read-only and for reporting ⇒ set Phone to "Master", Tablet to "Slave".
(2) Data can be changed on multiple devices ⇒ set all devices to "Multi Master".
How do I start a "Upload" or "Download"
This depends on the Sync Mode and on the extra settings:
• Upload is triggered automatically if "Upload to Cloud after every change" is ticked.
Otherwise you'll get an "Upload" action icon in the title bar on the main screen.
• Slave and Multi Master devices show a "Download" action icon in the title bar on the main screen.
Additionally, you can make the app perform a download on each app start.
Be very careful with «Multi Master»
Always keep a strict "change then sync" sequence when you have Multi Master enabled,
and check that you do have the latest data available on your device before putting in changes;
otherwise you will lose data.
Sample, using two devices A and B:
(a) OKAY: [change entries on A], [upload A to Cloud], [download on B], [change entries on B], [upload B to Cloud], [download on A]
(b) NOT OKAY: [change entries on A], [change entries on B], [upload B to cloud], [download to A] ⇒ changes on (A) are lost
«Auto download on start»
Caution if "Auto download on start" is enabled with Multi Master mode:
With sample (b) above, just starting the app on device A would override and lose all local changes. You cannot tell the app to NOT perform this specific sync at startup.
The only way to override this is to enable Airplane mode, then open the app (Airplane mode will make Cloud sync fail)
Using the widgets for punching
Widget punch DOES NOT check if the latest data has been downloaded.
⇒ Open the app first to download the latest changes before using the widgets.
«Auto download on system boot»
New option rolled out with version 7.52. This kicks in when the device is started on boot.
In contrast to "Auto download on start", this ignores the incoming data if changes on this device have been added after last upload from this device (so that we don't overwrite local data).